Elminster Ascending (Forgotten Realms: Sage of Shadowdale, book 2) by Ed Greenwood – book cover, description, publication history. The Paperback of the Forgotten Realms: Elminster Ascending: The Sage of Shadowdale by Ed Greenwood at Barnes & Noble. FREE Shipping. Results 1 – 18 of 18 Elminster Ascending: Sage of Shadowdale by Ed Greenwood and a great selection of related books, art and collectibles available now at.

Author: Douktilar Moktilar
Country: Vietnam
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Love
Published (Last): 23 November 2016
Pages: 180
PDF File Size: 6.6 Mb
ePub File Size: 12.45 Mb
ISBN: 289-3-27322-341-1
Downloads: 78015
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Nikolkree

Review: Elminster Ascending

Currently resides in an old farmhouse in the countryside of Ontario, Canada. Elminster took part in ascfnding endeavour and achieved the narrowest margin of success in making the Mythal by the end of the second novel.

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up. No trivia or quizzes yet. Nick rated it it was amazing Apr 06, This is actually a good thing in my opinion because it allowed the author to make an even more compelling story.

Honestly, it only worth 2. The Coronal of the Time sought to open the realm of Elves to other races, an idea most of the Elves he ruled over disliked. The last book, The Temptation of Elminster, takes place years later.

Podcast powered by podPress v8. As the book nears the end it starts hinting at the creation of a magical barrier to keep out evil, and after building it up the most you see of it is in the epilogue when its casually mentioned having been created but ‘evil forces tried to break it’.


He used the Realms as a setting for his campaigns, which centered around the fictional locales of Waterdeep and Shadowdale, locations that would figure prominently in his later writing. There is a period where Elminster or El as the books call him now and then spends time as a brigand in the woods, but is later told to go live in the city as a thief under the bad guys’ noses and learn to hide in the shadows, until he discovers Mystra and becomes a priest and finally a mage.

The later two novels deal with Elminster apprenticing himself to various other Mages and Sorcerers, and occasionally only being beholden to Mystra, the goddess of magic herself.

Elminster Ascending – Ed Greenwood – Google Books

Read, highlight, and take notes, across web, tablet, and phone. Eventually, those Mages overthrew the Stag Throne in all but name. His grand plan was to put up a Mythal, which would allow the Elves to remain in control of the city. The story starts out interestingly enough, a dragon and mage destroying a city and the child vowing to get revenge, but the story had a tendency to meander most of the time until suddenly the big bad reveals themselves and the story ends.

Elminster Ascending by Greenwood, Ed

Advanced Book Search Browse by Subject. Because of his aversion to killing, he moved into the capital of the realm where he became a Thief. Myrjala taught Elmara a great deal about magic and eventually helped her become Elminster the man once more.


Elminster omnibus by Ed Greenwood. John Francos rated it really liked it Aug 13, I highly recommend this collection.

This is a collection of the first three Elminster novels. Their confrontation was epic and was an immensely satisfying ending to this series.

Elminster Ascending

Oct 02, Tyler Chelf rated it it was ok. He is purported to be the most powerful mage is all the lands, but as the story unfolds you find that his real power is being saved by luck or the goddess he serves. The second was only a two star, seems like it could have been told in a short story. This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. This site uses cookies: He spent many years as a woman, eventually meeting Myrjala.

Lists with This Book. Unfortunately I found the books to be a bit of ascnding let down.

After a time, Elminster enlisted the aid of all of his friends and allies to reclaim the Stag Throne. You are well into the last 4th of the book before pieces start to come close to fitting together and new characters are still being introduced.

The first was the origin story and it was a good read. He agreed and she enacted her first test upon him. Reading crease on cover.

Ray rated it liked it Aug 19,

Author: admin